top of page

A K Blakemore

The Manningtree Witches.jpg

A K Blakemore is the author of two full-length collections of poetry: Humbert Summer (Eyewear, 2015) and Fondue (Offord Road Books, 2018), which was awarded the 2019 Ledbury Forte Prize for Best Second Collection.


She has also translated the work of Sichuanese poet Yu Yoyo (My Tenantless Body, Poetry Translation Centre, 2019).  Her poetry and prose writing has been widely published and anthologised, appearing in the The London Review of Books, Poetry, Poetry Review and The White Review, among others. 

The Manningtree Witches is her debut novel. It has won the Desmond Elliot Prize 2022 and shortlisted for the RSL Ondaatje Prize 2022, the Costa Prize Debut Book Award 2021, The Author's Club Best First Novel Awards. It was the Waterstones November 2021 Book of the Month and a Sunday Times Book of 2021.

A K Blakemore is sponsored by AY Enterprise.

In conversation with A K Blakemore: The Manningtree Witches


The Manningtree Witches is a fictional account of the Essex Witch Trials, based on the historical documents following the trials. The novel follows Rebecca West, a teenage girl from the village of Manningtree during the English Civil War, one of the alleged witches arrested and tried.

The in-conversation will discuss, among other things, Amy's interest in the intense religiosity of the book's world - the psychological impact of puritanism and damnation on the characters, and Satan as both a character in the book itself and a prominent figure in the Puritan imagination.

bottom of page